Ford tops Three Rivers team:Fairmont places 7 on all-conference first squad

First Posted: 12/4/2009

RED SPRINGS Fairmont’s Brandon Ford was selected as the Three Rivers Conference’s co-Player of the Year it was announced Friday afternoon.
Ford, who led Robeson County in tackles with 157, shared the conference accolade with East Columbus’ Chris McClure.
The Golden Tornadoes and the Gators shared another postseason award coach of the year. Fairmont’s Barry Leonard and East Columbus’ Travis Connor were named as co-coaches of the year after guiding their teams to tie for the conference title.
Joining Ford as an all-conference first team selection from Fairmont: were running back Lonnie Nealy, who rushed for 754 yards and 12 touchdowns; running back Tevin McAllister, who recorded 817 rushing yards and seven touchdowns; defensive lineman Artez Edwards, had 92 tackles and four sacks; defensive lineman Doug Blue, registered 67 tackles; offensive lineman Joe Willoughby; and quarterback Demetrius Washington, who passed for 326 yards and a touchdown.
South Robeson had three players selected to the first team: running back Avis Johnson, who ran for 950 yards and eight touchdowns; linebacker Caleb Rowdy, who totaled 88 tackles; and defensive lineman Al Nixon, who finished with 69 tackles and two sacks. St. Pauls also had three selections: offensive lineman Nolan Ray, linebacker Chris Sanchious and defensive back Omond Williams. Red Springs’ quarterback Sherman Sumpter, who rushed for 255 yards and passed for another 822, and defensive lineman Dravon Fairley, who registered 44 tackles, were honored as well.
Seven other members of the Fairmont football team received all-conference second team honors: Alex Gilchrist, Glenn Oxendine, Jetter Lewis, Ronnie Ford, Cedric Pittman, Desmond Parker and Doug Govan.
The Mustangs’ Edtwon Hamilton, Donnie Hunt, Tim Smith and Jodie McKoy were picked to second team as Red Springs’ Damontra Yates and Xavier McEachern.
East Columbus placed seven players on the first team and six on the second team, while West Columbus had four on the first team and four on the second team.

comments powered by Disqus