First Posted: 1/15/2009

Shelvie Buckner was named volunteer of the month by the Communities in Schools.
Buckner volunteers with first-graders at Prospect School. The retired teacher taught 24 of her 32 years at Prospect.

PEMBROKE — Jamie Lee Sutton recieved the Chancellor’s Commendation for Outstanding Scholarship from The University of North Carolina at Pembroke for academic excellence during the 2007semister.
He is the son of Kathy Sutton of Lumberton.

W/ART 5 mugs (slugged GS article)
LUMBERTON — Five Public Schools of Robeson County students have been selected to attend the Governor’s School summer program of 2008.
Selected in the academic areas are Javeed Jattan, math, from Early College High School; XinXin “Stephanie” Zhang, English, and Katye Jobe, social science, from Lumberton High School; Sarah Gambrel, math, Purnell Swett High; and Meagan Cain, math, from St. Pauls High.
Gambrel will be attending the East Campus in Raleigh. Jattan, Zhang, Jobe, and Cain will be attending the West Campus at Salem College.
Governor’s School is the oldest statewide summer residential program for academically or intellectually gifted high school students in the nation.

FAIRMONT — Three students were named to the A/B Honor Roll for the third quarter at Omega Christian Academy.
They are:
Grade 6: Justin Jacobs.
Grade 7: Carla Jolly.
Grade 12: Sarah Meares.

FAIRMONT — May 1 is the deadline for graduating high school seniors of the Public Schools of Robeson County to apply for the J.J. Johnson Scholarship.
The late Dr. Joy Johnson was a civil rights advocate who served on local and state boards. Johnson served in the General Assembly and on the UNC Board of Governors. He helped found the Robeson County Black Caucus and the African American Cultural Center among others.
Applications can be picked up from each school’s guidance counselor. Fill out and return them to: First Baptist Church, J.J. Johnson Scholarship Committee, 301 N. Main St., P.O. Box 1087, Fairmont, N.C. 28340. The phone number is 628-6844.

PEMBROKE — Four students at The University of North Carolina at Pembroke recently were presented the Resource Scholarship award.
The recipients were Raisa Jones, Dorothy Mansfield, Beaullah Chanakira and LeKeischa Tillman. To qualify, students submit an essay describing the importance of global mission and outreach services. Winners were selected by an independent panel comprised of teachers and ministry leaders.
The award is sponsored by HIS Image Mission and Outreach Ministry

PEMBROKE — Debra McRae, a fourth-grader at Union Chapel Elementary, has been nominated to attend the National Young Scholars program this summer.
The program, sponsored by the National Center for Early Academic Excellence, recognizes students for their academic achievement and leadership potential. If she selected, she will be attending the program at Wake Forest University.
McRae, 9, is the daughter of Bishop and Paulette McRae of Pembroke.

ITHACA, N.Y. — Daniel Koltonski of Lumberton has received the 2008-2009 Buttrick-Crippen Fellowship from the Knight Institute for Writing in the Disciplines at Cornell University.
The fellowship provides a full year of support during which the recipient can devote himself to the study and practice of teaching writing within and beyond the context of her or his own discipline.

FAIRMONT — Omega Christian Academy is now enrolling students in grades kindergarten through eighth.
To make an appointment, call Cathy Meares at 628-8610.

LUMBERTON — Lumberton High School’s Pirate Symphonic Band will perform at 7 p.m. in the William Gay Auditorium on Saturday.
Performances will include The Big Cage, Where never Lark or Eargle Flew, The Old Circus Band March and Rejouissance. Admission is free.

comments powered by Disqus