Education Briefs

First Posted: 1/15/2009

Crenshaw receives doctorate degree
RICHMOND, Va. - David Lee Crenshaw has received his doctor of ministry degree from the Baptist Theological Seminary in Richmond, Va.
Crenshaw is the executive director of the counseling ministry at Robeson Family Counseling Center, which is affiliated with the North Carolina Baptist Hospital in Winston-Salem. He is an ordained Baptist minister, a licensed marriage and family therapist, and a certified clinical addictions specialist.

Bell receives master's degree
FAYETTEVILLE - Jennifer Kay Bell of Pembroke received a master's degree in special education from Fayetteville State University on May 7.
Bell is a special education teacher at Fairmont High School. She is the daughter of Vivian Bell. She is a graduate of Pembroke State University.

Johnson receives DAR scholarship
PEMBROKE - Ashleigh Tennille Johnson was awarded one of six North Carolina Society Daughters of the American Revolution endowed scholarships in May.
Johnson is a second-year medical student at Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. She wants to be a pediatrician in a rural, Native American community.
Her parents are Ricky and Sylvia Johnson of Pembroke.

Robesonians shine at Peace College
RALEIGH - Abby Hamilton of Lumberton was named to the dean's scholars list at Peace College during the spring 2005 semester.
Dean's scholars students must record a 4.0 grade-point average.
Sara Barrington of Lumberton was named to the dean's list. She logged a 3.0 grade-point average. Barrington is a rising senior studying politics and public affairs. She is minoring in communication. Her parents are Dan and Peggy Barrington.

SECU Foundation picks six seniors
LUMBERTON - Six Robeson County high school seniors have been named recipients in the State Employees' Credit Union Foundation's “People Helping People” scholarship program.
They are Heather Brewer of St. Pauls High, Antoine Campbell of Red Springs High, Scott Floyd of Fairmont High, Justin Moore of Lumberton High, Marcus Oxendine of South Robeson, and Jessica Ransome of Purnell Swett.

Robesonians graduate NC State
RALEIGH - The following Robeson County residents graduated from N.C. State University on May 14.
– Lumber Bridge: Zachary Walton, agribusiness management.
– Lumberton: Ashley Freeman, multidisciplinary studies; Claude Jones, technology education; Melissa Koltonski, construction engineering and management; Rebekah McLean, communication distoder; Tysha Shaw, criminology; Brian Thompson, nuclear engineering; Ronnie Strickland, biological sciences; and Steven Walters, chemistry.
– Maxton: Douglas Lytch, agricultural business management.
– Parkton: James Proctor, mass communication.
– Robeson County: Millicent Maynor, English writing and rhetoric; Maya Thompson, applied mathematics; Ashley Washington, microbiology; Justin Caveness, agribusiness management; Jon Hathway, master's degree in biological and agricultural engineering; and Kelly Luffman, master's degree in computer networking/electrical engineering.

Local students make dean's list
RALEIGH - The following Robeson County residents were named to the dean's list at N.C. State University during the spring 2005 semester.
– Fairmont: Mary Walters.*
– Lumber Bridge: Dinah Skorich.
– Lumberton: Anthony D. Cabral Jr., James Coleman, Lynn Harris, Hillary Kinlaw, Eric Lownes,* Rebekah McLean, Evan Musselwhite,* Ryan Renfrow, Steven Smith, Catherine Warner* and Christopher Wilson.
– Maxton: James Epps,* Henry Locklear, Heather Taylor* and Marshall Titch.*
– Red Springs: Carmen Pearson.
– Rowland: Chad Leggette.
– Robeson County: Ashley Freeman,* Brandon Hardee, Hilarie Hatcher, Claude Jones, Douglas Lytch, Johnathan Phillips,* Mary Reeves, Kenneth Spayd,* and Maya Thompson.
To make the dean's list, students must earn a 3.25 grade-point average or better if they have grade-point carrying 15 or more hours of course work or a 3.5 grade-point average with 12 to 14 hours.
– Shannon: Brandon Locklear.*

* 4.0 grade-point average

comments powered by Disqus