FRINGE: Lewis, Myers take Fairmont’s Member-Guest tourney

By Scott Schlaufman

September 14, 2013

Fairmont Golf Club held its fifth annual Member-Guest tournament last weekend with 56 teams playing best ball on Saturday and Texas Scramble on Sunday.

A.D. Lewis and Kevin Myers won the first flight with a 19-under-par 125, beating Jim Reaves and Clay Huffstetler by one stroke and Dylan Thompson and Luke Coates by two strokes.

Jimmy Stone and Marty Hunt shot 14-under-par 130 and beat David Rogers and Tray Martin in a two-hole playoff to win the second flight.

Jack Thompson and Drew Schuett won the third flight with a 133, and Tom Jones and J.T. Powers came in second at 137.

Link Phillips and Phil Walters shot 142 to win the fourth flight, a single shot ahead of Rory McKeithan and Bob Capps.

Adam Walters and Patrick Meadows won the fight flight at 147, and Ronald Hughes and Caroline Crutchfield and Mel Ray and Rusty Horne shared second at 150.

Closest to the pin winners were Gene Hall and Tad Wood on No. 5, Tray Martin and Kayla Thompson on No. 8, Eddie Mayers and Luke Coates on No. 13 and Ronald Moore and Brett Coleman on No. 15.

Closest to line winners were Kevin Davis on No. 4 and Gary Whittington on No. 16. Longest putt winners were Anthony Bailey on No. 9 and Keith Ransom on No. 11.

Cliffwood GC

The Robeson County Community College Foundation is holding the 29th annual Clifford Bullard Memorial Golf Tournament on Thursday.

The tournament serves as a fundraiser to help the foundation in its mission to offer financial support to programs and activities, as well as give scholarships to students.

The tournament is a four-man captain’s choice with each team consisting of an A, B, C and D player. Play begins at 12:30 p.m. The entry is $75 per player, which includes greens and cart fees, refreshments, mulligans, prizes and lunch an hour before tee time. Sponsorships are also available.

For information, including registration forms, visit or call Rebekah Lowry at 910-272-3235.

Jimmy Stone ended his round Wednesday on a positive note, scoring a double-eagle on No. 18. His final shot on the hole was 8 iron that he cupped from 140 yards.

Texas Scramble winners from Sept. 6 were Mel Britt, Tommy Newberry, Richard Lowery and Charlie Bruce.

Margret Standfier and Pandora Carter won Monday’s Ladies League.

Richard Lowery and J.T. Powers won the championship flight of Tuesday’s Senior Shootout. Tom Jones and Dave Batchelder won the first flight and Sonny Parish and Gene Brumbles won the second flight.

Wednesday’s Texas Scramble winners were Donald Barnes, Dave Batchelder and John Potter.

Pinecrest CC

Worth Shaw has shot his age before, but on Friday, he went 2 under his age, shooting a 77 while playing with Haywood Calvert and Lionel Warwick.

Pinecrest will be holding its annual Member-Member tournament on Sept. 28 and Sept. 29.

The two-day tournament will be played with two-person teams utilizing a 6-6-6 format. Nos. 1-6 each day will be played as captain’s choice, with Nos. 7-12 as best ball and Nos. 13-18 as alternate shot.

The early signup fee is $150 per team, which includes greens and cart fees, beverages and prizes. Teams get one half of their combined handicap. For information, call the club’s golf shop at 910-738-6541.

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke’s Givens Performing Arts Center will be hosting its sixth annual golf tournament on Oct. 1. The center, which has more than 100,000 people come through its doors each year, uses the tournament to raise money for its capital fund and will put proceeds towards theatre improvements.

The tournament is a four-person team handicap captain’s choice. There’s a fee of $100 per golfer or $400 per team, which includes greens fees, cart fees, range balls, a goody bag that includes a GPAC gift certificate, and lunch. Golfers can also purchase a $20 bonus package that includes a raffle ticket, two muilligans, team toss and a red tee. Sponsorship opportunities start at $100.

Tournament check-in starts at 11 a.m. the day of the tournament, with lunch at noon and a shotgun start at 1 p.m.

For information, call Chad Locklear at 921-521-6634 or email

Send your golf news to Sports Editor Scott Schlaufman at 910-272-6111 or at The deadline is Thursday at 5 p.m. for that Sunday’s publication.