First Community Health Awards presented

October 19, 2013

LUMBERTON — Southeastern Health hosted its first Community Health Awards program on Tuesday to highlight efforts to improve the health of the citizens of Robeson County and surrounding communities. Nominees were recognized for initiatives and partnerships which impact the lives of people of all ages — teaching, encouraging and leading them to healthier lifestyles.

“It was important to me to take time to showcase many of the positive efforts that take place in the region we serve to guide people to better health,” SeHealth President/CEO Joann Anderson said. “It is easy to focus on the negative barriers that present themselves, so we have to make an extra effort to recognize those who are giving of themselves and their companies to reach the community with a message of healthy living. Our health status will change only when we embrace the commitment to change our habits, whether related to eating, physical activity, smoking or regular visits to the doctor, and begin to establish a support system and culture of change. The nominees recognized during our awards program all have made significant steps toward making a healthier community a reality.”

Of the 24 nominees, winners were named in seven categories. A list of the nominees and winners includes:

— Business: Kayser-Roth Corporation (winner), Biggs Park Mall, Campbell Soup and Mountaire Farms.

— Education: Public Schools of Robeson County (winner), Lumberton Senior High School and UNC Pembroke.

— Emergency Personnel: Lumberton Rescue and EMS (winner) and Lumberton Fire Department and Robeson County Sheriff’s Department.

— Faith-Based: First Baptist Church, 2nd Street, Lumberton (winner), Hyde Park Baptist Church, Lumberton and Island Grove Baptist Church, Pembroke.

— Government: Robeson County Government (winner), Town of Fairmont and Town of Red Springs

— Health Care: Dr. Robin Peace (winner), Dr. Martin Brooks, Community Care of North Carolina, Robeson County Health Department and Robeson HealthCare Corporation.

— Individual Impact: Mike DeCinti (winner), Maria Parker and the late Irene Stuart.

A video of the event can be watched on SeHealth’s YouTube channel, SeHealth Lumberton.