Last updated: March 10. 2014 10:47AM - 1489 Views
Dennis Watts

Dennis Watts
Dennis Watts
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Robeson Community College’s chapter of the National Technical Honor Society held its ninth annual induction ceremony in the A.D. Lewis Auditorium on the main campus Thursday, and 11 new members were added to the membership.

The college has long had a chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for students in two-year programs, but several years ago Robeson Community College Business instructors Audra Harris and George Pate saw the opportunity to recognize students in technical areas and applied for a charter in the National Technical Honor Society in 2005. The first members were inducted into the new chapter in 2006. The National Technical Honor Society is open to students in technical areas including one-year programs, unlike Phi Theta Kappa which is only open to students in two-year programs.

Membership in Robeson Community College’s chapter is open to full-time and part-time students who have completed at least 12 credit hours in a degree, diploma, or certificate technical program with a grade-point average of 3.25 or higher.

This year’s inductees are Ashland White, Benjamin Lewis, Brenda Hernandez, Ernest Britt, Jamie Morgan, Joshua Adams, June Edwards, Kevin Oxendine, LaQuana Montgomery, Tina Henderson and Erica Richardson.

Following a welcome message by Harris and remarks by RCC President Pamela Hilbert, chapter adviser and Early Childhood Education department chairperson Gwen Chavis told attendees the purpose of the organization; chapter President Joshua Adams explained the NTHS insignia; and Harris shared the significance of the club’s emblem.

Chavis introduced Robeson Community College graduate and registered nurse Patrick McMurray as guest speaker for the ceremony. McMurray addressed the inductees on the need to take action on their dreams. He quoted T.E. Lawrence, “All men dream, but not equally,” to make the distinction between those who just dream and those who take action on their dreams in amplifying the NTHS motto that “success favors the prepared mind.”

After a candle-lighting ceremony, Hilbert congratulated new members as advisers Harris and Chavis presented them with membership certificates and pins.

McMurray reflected on his experience with the National Technical Honor Society.

“It’s a great organization that supports technical education. Technical education has kind of fallen by the wayside,” he said. “Everybody wants to be a doctor, but we couldn’t function as a society without plumbers, nurses, computer technicians, and welders. Trade and technical people form the basis of our society.”

Harris noted that membership is not all about being honored for good grades.

“Being an Honor Society member has its responsibilities. The seven attributes listed are ones we think all members should possess and display to others. Leadership being one of them. The members being inducted today are role models for other students, friends, and family. They are actively involved in their community and seeking a life changing path of higher education,” he said.

At the national level, the National Technical Honor Society was founded in 1984 and today claims more than 3,200 affiliated colleges and schools. The mission statement of the organization is “to honor student achievement and leadership, award scholarships, promote educational excellence and enhance career opportunities for the NTHS membership.”

For information about the National Technical Honor Society, visit www.nths.org.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Lumberton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com