Players, teams from North Carolina in the Big Dance

By Rodd Baxley - [email protected]

Welcome to March Madness, North Carolina.

We have five teams in the NCAA Tournament this year: Duke, North Carolina, North Carolina Central, UNC Wilmington and Wake Forest. You’re most likely pulling for one of these squads to cut down the nets in Phoenix.

But if you want to dig a little deeper — and possibly shake up your bracket a bit — I may have an option for you.

Of the 68 teams in the field, 26 of them have at least one player from the state of North Carolina on their roster. Yes, many of these players are on the five teams representing the Tar Heel state in the tournament, but some of these squads may come as a surprise.

UNCW leads the way with eight players from the state on their roster, followed by UNC (6), Wake Forest (5) and North Carolina Central (4).

Here’s a look at the 26 teams and 48 players to pull for during the Big Dance.

UNC Wilmington

Chris Flemmings, R-Sr., Cary

Denzel Ingram, Sr., Chapel Hill

C.J. Bryce, So., Charlotte

JaQuel Richmond, R-So., Greensboro

Jaylen Fornes, Fr., Pamlico County

Nick Powell, Jr., Greensboro

Matt Elmore, Fr., Jacksonville

Marcus Bryan, R-Jr., Raleigh

North Carolina

Kennedy Meeks, Sr., Charlotte

Isaiah Hicks, Sr., Oxford

Theo Pinson, Jr., Greensboro

Stilman White, Sr., Wilmington

Luke Maye, So., Huntersville

Aaron Rohlman, Jr., Gastonia

Wake Forest

Brandon Childress, Fr., Winston-Salem

Keyshawn Woods, R-So., Gastonia

Greg McClinton, R-Jr., Winston-Salem

Anthony Bilas, So., Charlotte

Aaron Spivey, So., Rocky Mount

North Carolina Central

Dajuan Graf, R-Sr., Charlotte

Raekwon Harney, R-Jr., Winston-Salem, Louisburg College

Marius McAllister, R-Jr., Durham

John Guerra, So., Cary.


Bam Adebayo, Fr., Little Washington

Sacha Killeya-Jones, Fr., Chapel Hill

Mount St. Mary’s

Junior Robinson, Jr., Mebane

Chris Wray, Jr., Shelby


Cody Martin, Jr., Mocksville

Caleb Martin, Jr., Mocksville


Kadeem Allen, Sr., Wilmington


Al Freeman, Jr., Charlotte


Ben Robertson, Fr., High Point


Tyler Lewis, R-Sr., Statesville


Gary Clark, Jr., Clayton


Davion Mintz, Fr., Charlotte


Harry Giles, Fr., Winston-Salem

East Tennessee State

Kanayo Obi-Rapu, Jr., Greensboro

Florida Gulf Coast

Rayjon Tucker, So., Charlotte

Iowa State

Simeon Carter, So., Charlotte


Devonte’ Graham, Jr., Raleigh

Kansas State

Isaiah Maurice, R-Fr., Durham


Ebuka Izundu, So., Charlotte


Ricky Council II, So., Durham

Seton Hall

Madison Jones, Sr., Raleigh

South Carolina

Tommy Corchiani, Fr., Raleigh


Matthew Fisher-Davis, Jr., Charlotte


Jay Huff, Fr., Durham

Virginia Tech

Ty Outlaw, R-Jr., Roxboro

By Rodd Baxley

[email protected]

Rodd Baxley can be reached at 910-416-5182. Follow him on Twitter @RoddBaxley.

Rodd Baxley can be reached at 910-416-5182. Follow him on Twitter @RoddBaxley.

comments powered by Disqus